Sarah Cahill, solo piano

October 17, 8 PM
Outpost Performance Space

Sarah Cahill has an active career performing both contemporary music and classical repertoire. Piano works dedicated to her include John Adams’ China Gates (1977), Larry Polansky’s Casten Variation (1994), and “Blue” Gene Tyranny’s Spirit (1996). She has premiered works by many noteable composers, including Lou Harrison, Terry Riley, Chen Yi, and Carl Stone. Recent appearances have included solo recitals at Sarah Lawrence College, Dartmouth College, the Composers Collaborative series in New York City, the Knitting Factory, the Dame Myra Hess series in Chicago, and the Kahilu Theatre in Kamuela, Hawaii. She has also participated in the Bates Festival of New American Music in Maine and the Fifth Biennial Symposium of Art and Technology at Connecticut College. Sarah has performed on WNYC in New York City, for Vermont Public Radio, and on KPFA in Berkeley. Recent performances include participation in “100 Portraits for Virgil” at the New School, in the Other Minds Festival, and at festivals celebrating Henry Cowell’s centenary in New York and in Berkeley.


Ruth Crawford, Nine Preludes (1924-1928)
Henry Cowell, Slow Jig (1925)
Henry Cowell, The Fairy Answer (1929)
Johanna Beyer, from Dissonant Counterpoint (n.d.)
Percy Grainger, Molly on the Shore (1918)
Johanna Beyer, from Gebrauchsmusik (1934)
Henry Cowell, Set of Two Movements (n.d.)